Home > wildlife > Animals > Indian Langur


Indian Langur

Page 1 of 7

Indian langur with various names like Hanuman langur, common langur, grey langur, entellus langur,

true langur, Asian leaf-eating monkey is the sacred animal of India named under the Hindu monkey-god Hanuman.

These are group of monkeys with the genus Semnopithecus and the zoological name Semnopithecus entellus. It falls under the Cercopithecidae family and order Primates.

It is believed that out of 15 subspecies around 7 subspecies are falling under one species named 'Semnopithecus entellus' and is widely distributed in various parts of India.

Subspecies of Indian Langur

The various subspecies of Indian Langur are as below:

Common name Scientific name Other names Pictures
Nepal gray langur Semnopithecus schistaceus central Himalayan langur, Nepal gray langur
Kashmir gray langur Semnopithecus ajax dark-eyed Himalayan langur, Himalayan gray langur, Kashmir gray langur, western Himalayan langur
Tarai gray langur Semnopithecus hector gray langur, Hanuman langur, lesser hill langur, Tarai gray langur
Northern plains gray langur Semnopithecus entellus Bengal hanuman langur, common langur, entellus langur, gray langur, Hanuman langur, northern plains gray langur, true langur
Black-footed gray langur Semnopithecus hypoleucos black-footed gray langur, dark-legged Malabar langur
Southern plains gray langur Semnopithecus dussumieri Dussumier's Malabar langur, southern plains gray langur
Tufted gray langur Semnopithecus priam Madras gray langur, tufted gray langur

Wildlife Sanctuaries

Pages  >> 1   2   3   4   5   6  7